The ‘No Heat’ Challenge

I have a confession to make…I am a blow-dryer addict!!

As much as I like to think that I take care of my hair pretty well, it’s time to come clean. I NEVER let my hair dry naturally.

I think my worst fear would be waking up one morning, washing my hair and finding the hairdryer broken.

I LOVE my hairdryer, we are friends, we share a mutual understanding…I invested in her, keep her nice and safe in my drawer, always clean the filter and in return she provides me with better looking hair than I actually have. Yes, my hairdryer is a female…who else would understand the need for a nice shiny voluminous blowout???

IMG_1607

I like to think that on a scale of the bad things people do to their hair I fall somewhere in the 3-4 out of 10 range. I only wash my hair twice a week (my shower cap and I are also very close), I always use a wide tooth comb on wet hair, I apply a moroccan oil and very rarely do I use any heat tool on it besides my beloved hairdryer.

So where did I dream up this crazy ‘no heat’ challenge? Well you see, I let my hair dry naturally…oh the horror, THE HORROR!! What a horrible mistake! My hair did not fall into some beautiful natural face-framing golden cascade…no, instead it dried into a fuzzy straight-ish limp mess of a head-nest.

IMG_1605

So here is my challenge…I am going to try to go one month without blowdrying my hair. Why you may ask? Well I want to see if there will be any improvement, not only in the head-nest I see right now but in my hairs texture and overall health.

Yes, this is going to cause a bit of a change.

Firstly I will have to wash my hair at night, not in the mornings…after years of ‘don’t leave the house with wet hair!’ drilled into me (thanks Mum) I just don’t think I could do it. Also, the mornings are getting colder and I don’t fancy a freezing head in the mornings.

clear-scalp-and-hair-therapy-total-care-1

Shampoo FAIL!

Secondly, over the last few weeks I’ve noticed a bit more hair breakage than normal so I’ve ditched the el-cheapo shampoo that I think is causing the issue (yeah thanks Miranda Kerr, Clear Shampoo…so not what it claims to be) and bought a strengthening shampoo by Midollo Di Bamboo. This is meant to reconstruct damaged and weak hair…here’s hoping!

midollo-bamboo-7

Ok, so the challenge is on, anyone else willing to join me?? We can take this journey together (yes 4 weeks without a hairdryer is a journey). I can see some creative up-do’s and a lot of braids in the coming 4 weeks! I’m not quite brave enough to go au-natural hair down quite yet…who knows though, that might change by the end of the challenge. Here’s hoping!

Stay tuned for challenge updates!

Angie 🙂

Leave a Reply

